Our Astbury curriculum is developing as we adopt and construct a curriculum that is ambitious and designed to give all our pupils the knowledge and cultural capital they need to succeed in life. We currently use the Early Years Curriculum and National Curriculum as the framework for our curriculum. 


The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum was changed in 2014 and we are teaching to the new Government guidelines. Click on the links to read more information. The National Curriculum is split into two key stages.

  • Key Stage 1 (KS1) – Years 1 & 2;
  • Key Stage 2 (KS2) – Years 3, 4, 5 & 6

In our school we have a mixed Pre-School/reception class, a /Y1/Y2 class, a Y3/Y4 class and a Y5/Y6 class. This means that children are taught to their age and ability in these classes and teachers cover all the areas of the curriculum.

We teach the National Curriculum through individual subjects and through topic based themes.


Phonics and Reading

Phonics and reading in Reception and KS1 are taught through Bug Club Phonics (Active Learn). Children are taught daily interactive phonics lessons which include videos, games and assessments.

The reading books are also from Active Learn- Bug Club. Children have hard copy of books to borrow from school but can also read them online at home answering comprehension questions. There is also a lovely collection of real books supplied by Maddeline Lindley. 

In KS2 children can access bug club books to read online as well as taking home hard copies of the texts . There are also free reading books in all classrooms for children to access.

Every class has daily guided reading lessons which also include comprehension tasks. Children listen to texts from our selected reading spine which are read to them for ten minutes every day.


Religious Education (RE)

Religious Education is taught based on the guidelines of the Chester Diocese. We teach RE lessons but also have RE days which the children, staff and Governors like to all take part in.



SPaG lessons are taught throughout the week. In KS1 we use Active Learn - Grammar and Spelling to teach interactive lessons which include new information, games and assessments.

Spelling is taught using NC spelling year lists.


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) – Reception

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it’s suitable for very young children, and it’s designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

For more information on what the EYFS curriculum means for your child, look at the links below.

Files to Download